Monday, March 21st, 2011

Comedy Awards Update: Presenters Announced, Eddie Murphy Receiving First "Comedy Icon Award"

The Comedy Awards are coming up this Saturday, and more details are starting to emerge about what to expect. First, they've announced that Eddie Murphy will be receiving the inagural "Comedy Icon Award." OK! I mean, the guy has done pretty much zero of value since Bowfinger in 1999, and that is one island of quality in a pretty big sea of mediocrity that is his career since the 80s, but sure. The guy's an icon, just not an icon from this century.

In any case, the initial presenters list is a much better representation of the folks making good comedy right now: Tina Fey, Jon Stewart, Jimmy Fallon, Tracy Morgan, Matt Stone, Trey Parker, Ty Burrell, Louis CK, Stephen Colbert, Rob Corddry, Bill Hader, Andy Samberg and Kristen Wiig, with more to be announced. That's a lot of funny people! You can see them be funny when the awards are broadcast on like a dozen Viacom stations, including Comedy Central, on April 10th.

Sponsored Content
  • http://www.lindaaar.tumblr.com/ Linda Aarseth

    I wonder if they'll get Amy Poehler to present, since they clearly snubbed her BIG TIME!

  • JoshUng

    I hope they do it well this year, didn't they try this before with "The Commies"?

    • Bradford Evans

      Yeah, and the Commies replaced the American Comedy Awards, which had been around since the '80s.

      I don't know about this Eddie Murphy icon thing. He was amazing on SNL and in movies in the early '80s. If he had just retired in 1985, I think he would be more deserving of icon status than he is now. Bowfinger is the last good thing he's done and the first since Coming to America more than ten years earlier.