Ellen DeGeneres to Get Mark Twained

The Kennedy Center announced today that Ellen DeGeneres will be the 15th recipient of the Mark Twain Prize for American Humor. The foundation’s chairman explained the choice: “Through her television programs, stand-up appearances, movies, and even commercials, her special brand of humor has allowed us to find hilarity in the mundane and has kept us laughing for years.” Movies? I guess they felt that Mark Twain would’ve loved Mr. Wrong. Watching her Tonight Show clip helped me remember that Ellen was and is an incredibly gifted stand-up, who has since transitioned to have quite a career for himself. She responded to the “honor” with this statement: “To get the same award that has been given to people like Bill Cosby, Tina Fey and Will Ferrell, it really makes me wonder… why didn’t I get this sooner?” Zing! Take it down a notch, El DeGens, you already won the award. Below is a list of the previous winners. Who do you think is going to win next year? Here are my guesses: Johnny Carson, Woody Allen, Mel Brooks.

1998 – Richard Pryor
1999 – Jonathan Winters
2000 – Carl Reiner
2001 – Whoopi Goldberg
2002 – Bob Newhart
2003 – Lily Tomlin
2004 – Lorne Michaels
2005 – Steve Martin
2006 – Neil Simon
2007 – Billy Crystal
2008 – George Carlin
2009 – Bill Cosby
2010 – Tina Fey
2011 – Will Ferrell

From Our Partners