Splitsider

Posts tagged as books

Marcel the Shell Experiences His Very First Thunderstorm

It's a big week for fans of Jenny Slate and Dean Fleischer-Camp's tiny creation Marcel the Shell. Not only is there a new book called Marcel the Shell: The Most Surprised I've Ever Been out tomorrow, but today they released a brand new video featuring Marcel as he talks about deodorant, the "idiots of the sea," and his plant allergies while experiencing his very first thunderstorm. Check out the first two Marcel the Shell videos here and here.

Lena Dunham to Adapt and Possibly Direct the YA Novel 'Catherine, Called Birdy' for the Big Screen

Actor and author Lena Dunham has added another project with news that she plans to adapt Karen Cushman's 1994 YA novel Catherine, Called Birdy for the big screen. According to Variety, Dunham revealed the news at the New Yorker Festival on Friday: "I'm going to adapt it and hopefully direct it," she said. "I just need to find someone who wants to fund a PG-13 Medieval movie." Dunham will develop the film alongside Girls executive producer Jenni Konner through their production company A Casual Romance, which Dunham said is for "projects that sort of aren't set in the here and now." Here's how Dunham described the novel, [...]

The Enduring Legacy of Phil Hartman

As much as Phil Hartman's work and influence lives on, the Ontario native has so far escaped the kind of mainstream legacy re-appraisal that so many other late standups and sketch players have enjoyed.

You Might Remember Me: The Life and Times of Phil Hartman, which takes its name from the catchphrase of The Simpsons mainstay Troy McClure (voiced by Hartman), aims to right that. The long-overdue appreciation of Hartman's genius, which will be published tomorrow by St. Martin's Press, looks at the arc of his career — from his little-known stints as a rock 'n' roll roadie and album-cover designer to his comedy work with the Groundlings and beyond — as well as [...]

Air Bud: Glory Days, by Joe Veix

Do go check out PBQ Vol. 2. Edited by our friend John Howell Harris (with cover and interstitial art by Daniel Spenser) the second in the PBQ series is an elegant, hardbound number filled with humorous art and pieces from folks who have previously created material for The Onion, The Tonight Show, Adult Swim, Community, and The New Yorker.

It’s $15.00, so a small but solid investment. All proceeds benefit New York Cares. Please enjoy this excerpt, “Scenes From Air Bud: Glory Days” by Joe Veix.

Air Bud finds a box of old basketball memorabilia in his attic. He blows dust off a newspaper clipping, and ponders the [...]

Holden Caulfield Applies for an HR Position, by Dan Morey

Greg Roman Integrated Software 48 Detmire Road White Plains, NY 10601

Dear Mr. Roman,

I’m writing to apply for the goddam HR Manager position you advertised in the New York Times. I’ve enclosed my résumé and three references from real hot-shots.The opportunity in your ad is very interesting and all. You wouldn’t believe how enthusiastic I am about it. You really wouldn’t. My brother D.B. says I’m a born HR man, and he’s a terrific judge of character. At least he used to be before he moved out to Hollywood and started writing all those rotten movies. D.B. is really just a prostitute now.

Anyway, I guess my experience and education make [...]

What a _________ Job: How Mad Libs Are Written

“There’s a very small number of people on this planet who have this very specific job.” That’s how Mad Libs editor Laura Marchesani describes her work, and the exact thought that made me curious about a game I hadn’t played in decades.

Mad Libs have been a household name since their first release by publisher Price Stern Sloan (now a division of Penguin) in 1958. The game has a sophisticated origin story, told years ago by its inventor Leonard Stern: Stern’s friend Roger Price, whom he’d met when they were writing for The Tonight Show, had come over to polish a humor book they’d written together called What Not [...]

Watch a Play from Bob Odenkirk's New Book Called "Hitler Dinner Party"

Bob Odenkirk's new book A Load of Hooey comes out today, and to get you excited, he teamed up with Funny or Die and the voice talents of Megan Amram to turn his short play "Hitler Dinner Party" into a fully realized and extremely awkward animation. For more monologues, poetry, fiction, and plays from the mind of Bob Odenkirk, order yourself a copy of A Load of Hooey immediately.

Finding Business Lessons in the World of Improv

In his book Funny Business, Bill Connolly explores the connection between business and comedy. With interviews from Boston’s powerhouse standup Gary Gulman to the owners of Boston’s Improv Asylum, Connolly explores how his ten comedic principles, if applied, can better any boardroom or office.

For several years Connolly performed at the Improv Asylum in Boston and worked as a marketing analyst. He couldn’t deny the benefit his professional life received from his comedic one, and it inspired him to research the correlation.The result? His book and a new career.

Connolly currently travels for the ad agency iCrossing teaching improv to all its US employees. I caught up with him while [...]

The 'It's Always Sunny' Gang Is Writing a Self-Help Book

The life experts of It's Always Sunny in Philadelphia are writing a book. A pre-order page recently showed up on Amazon for The 7 Secrets of Awakening the Highly Effective Four-Hour Giant, Today, a book "written" by Charlie, Mac, Dennis, Sweet Dee, and Frank that will serve as a self-help guide. From the book's description:

The Gang may have finally found their golden ticket. Left alone to close down Paddy’s Pub one night, Charlie Kelly inadvertently scored himself, and his friends, the opportunity of a lifetime—a book deal with a real publishing company, real advance money, and a real(ly confused) editor. While his actual ability to read and [...]

Billy Eichner Is Writing His First Book

Billy on the Street host Billy Eichner is getting into the literary world. THR reports that Eichner has signed a deal to write his first book, a currently untitled comedic tome about the worlds of comedy and pop culture. "I'm very excited to start writing and I can assure my fans they will love the book more than Shailene Woodley loves Tom's of Maine," Eichner said. "This book is for anyone obsessed with show business, pop culture, social media and lots of other fun topics that fill our days as we hurtle helplessly toward accidents, illness, infidelity and death."

Billy on the Street, which finished its third season in [...]

Megan Amram, Nick Offerman, Rich Fulcher, and Steve Agee Get Sweaty for Science

Megan Amram's new book Science…For Her! comes out on November 4th, so in order to get ladies jazzed up to learn about science, she enlisted three of the hunkiest hunks in comedy: Nick Offerman, Rich Fulcher, and Steve Agee to shoot a video to promote it. If those three studs gyrating and lip syncing don't get your juices flowing, check your pulse.

Watch B.J. Novak Read 'The Book with No Pictures' to a Bunch of Little Kids

Here's an adorable preview of B.J. Novak's new children's book The Book with No Pictures, in which the former Office writer/star reads aloud to a group of rambunctious kids from Queens who take great pleasure from hearing him say stuff like "BLORK!", "I am a robot monkey," and "Boo Boo Butt." The book is out today via Amazon in case you have kids of your own or just like reading picture-less kids' books for fun in your spare time.

Read Some New Excerpts from the Updated 'Live from New York' Book

The new and extended version of Tom Shales and James Miller's SNL oral history book Live from New York isn't out until September 9th, but in the meantime THR has released a few exclusive excerpts from the book all about the show's more recent political satire, from how Tina Fey's Sarah Palin was born to why Robert Smigel's last TV Funhouse segment was rejected to Fred Armisen and Jay Pharoah's Obama impersonations. Here's Horatio Sanz on the opposing political sensibilities of former head writers Jim Downey and Seth Meyers:

I don't think the show itself has ever let its freak flag fly in the last 20 [...]

Patton Oswalt Has Written a Book About His Addiction to Movies

Patton Oswalt has a second book in the works. Recently, Amazon posted the pre-order page for his upcoming book titled Silver Screen Fiend: Learning About Life from an Addiction to Film. Here's the book's official description:

New York Times bestselling author, comedian, and actor Patton Oswalt shares his entertaining memoir about coming of age as a performer and writer in the late ’90s while obsessively watching classic films at the legendary New Beverly Cinema in Los Angeles.

Between 1995 and 1999, Patton Oswalt lived with an unshakeable addiction. It wasn’t drugs, alcohol, or sex. It was film. After moving to L.A., Oswalt became a huge film buff, absorbing classics [...]