Splitsider

Posts tagged as books

Dave Hill Reflects on Life, Death, and Funeral Parties

IFC's Comedy Crib released the first installment of a new web series today called Funny People Reading Books featuring Dave Hill reading an excerpt from his 2012 book Tasteful Nudes. In the clip, Hill looks back on his understanding and acceptance of death as a child, which included much more enthusiasm than most kids his age.

Aasif Mandvi Explains How 'The Daily Show' Made Him a "Terrorist of Comedy"

"The longer I spent time on The Daily Show, standing in front of a green screen pretending to report from war zones and hot spots around the world—most often from somewhere in the Middle East—the more I began to realize that The Daily Show was radicalizing me. I was being allowed to express the outrage that had lain dormant in me since the aftermath of September 11. I was becoming a terrorist of comedy … I was learning to fire missiles of satire across the basic cable airwaves and blow the minds of a million people."

- Aasif Mandvi looks back on getting hired on The Daily Show and his [...]

Megan Amram Is Going on a 'Science…For Her!' Book Tour

Megan Amram's new book Science…For Her! comes out on November 4th, and she's celebrating the launch with a book tour in the US and Canada. The tour will make stops in Los Angeles, Toronto, Brooklyn, Portland, and more with some special guest appearances from John Hodgman, Megan Mullally, and Amram's mom. Click through for complete book tour information, then check out Amram's super sexy promo video with Nick Offerman, Rich Fulcher, and Steve Agee here.

Megan Amram, Nick Offerman, Rich Fulcher, and Steve Agee Get Sweaty for Science

Megan Amram's new book Science…For Her! comes out on November 4th, so in order to get ladies jazzed up to learn about science, she enlisted three of the hunkiest hunks in comedy: Nick Offerman, Rich Fulcher, and Steve Agee to shoot a video to promote it. If those three studs gyrating and lip syncing don't get your juices flowing, check your pulse.

Watch B.J. Novak Read 'The Book with No Pictures' to a Bunch of Little Kids

Here's an adorable preview of B.J. Novak's new children's book The Book with No Pictures, in which the former Office writer/star reads aloud to a group of rambunctious kids from Queens who take great pleasure from hearing him say stuff like "BLORK!", "I am a robot monkey," and "Boo Boo Butt." The book is out today via Amazon in case you have kids of your own or just like reading picture-less kids' books for fun in your spare time.

Dan Harmon Is Publishing a Book of Essays in 2016

Good news for Dan Harmon fans: Entertainment Weekly reports that the Community creator is writing a book of humorous essays to be published by Doubleday sometime in 2016. The book — which doesn't yet have an official title — will "present a mix of the author’s recollections, musings, and riffs." The book will be Harmon's second published work following the limited release of 2013's You'll Be Perfect When You're Dead, a collection of his best writing from his blog "Dan Harmon Poops."

Amy Poehler's 'Yes Please' Is the Best Non-Self-Help Self-Help Book Ever

Before I can start my thoughts on Amy Poehler’s Yes Please (Dey Street Press, out today), I have to put aside Professional Writer Voice and make a confession: I love self-help books. I’m not talking about the ones that promise if you just think positively piles of money will magically appear. I mean the ones that urge us to be better people, that gently tell us it’s slowly inch-by-inch going to be okay and that it helps our hearts to be kinder to others and to ourselves. I have an entire shelf of them. If there’s a Brene Brown book to be had, I own a dog-eared, heavily-underlined copy, [...]

Marcel the Shell Experiences His Very First Thunderstorm

It's a big week for fans of Jenny Slate and Dean Fleischer-Camp's tiny creation Marcel the Shell. Not only is there a new book called Marcel the Shell: The Most Surprised I've Ever Been out tomorrow, but today they released a brand new video featuring Marcel as he talks about deodorant, the "idiots of the sea," and his plant allergies while experiencing his very first thunderstorm. Check out the first two Marcel the Shell videos here and here.

Lena Dunham to Adapt and Possibly Direct the YA Novel 'Catherine, Called Birdy' for the Big Screen

Actor and author Lena Dunham has added another project with news that she plans to adapt Karen Cushman's 1994 YA novel Catherine, Called Birdy for the big screen. According to Variety, Dunham revealed the news at the New Yorker Festival on Friday: "I'm going to adapt it and hopefully direct it," she said. "I just need to find someone who wants to fund a PG-13 Medieval movie." Dunham will develop the film alongside Girls executive producer Jenni Konner through their production company A Casual Romance, which Dunham said is for "projects that sort of aren't set in the here and now." Here's how Dunham described the novel, [...]

The Enduring Legacy of Phil Hartman

As much as Phil Hartman's work and influence lives on, the Ontario native has so far escaped the kind of mainstream legacy re-appraisal that so many other late standups and sketch players have enjoyed.

You Might Remember Me: The Life and Times of Phil Hartman, which takes its name from the catchphrase of The Simpsons mainstay Troy McClure (voiced by Hartman), aims to right that. The long-overdue appreciation of Hartman's genius, which will be published tomorrow by St. Martin's Press, looks at the arc of his career — from his little-known stints as a rock 'n' roll roadie and album-cover designer to his comedy work with the Groundlings and beyond — as well as [...]

Talking with Megan Amram About Her New Book 'Science…For Her!'

I don’t want to start this by talking about Twitter and how it’s now used for more than sharing up to the second news, opinions on that news, and jokes on that news, because we already know this. Also, because Megan Amram deserves more than this. But you can’t talk about Amram and her career without talking about Twitter. Before she was a comedy writer on Parks and Recreation and the Oscars, she was just known for her tweets. And by “just,” I mean her over four hundred thousand followers “just” knew this woman for her weird, often dark, hilarious tweets. It was this simple act of writing jokes on [...]

Watch LeVar Burton Do a Live Reading of 'Go the Fuck to Sleep'

Every '90s kid's favorite book enthusiast LeVar Burton recently participated in a charity telethon, where he made the very charitable donation of a live reading of Adam Mansbach's Go the Fuck to Sleep to a group of grown up Reading Rainbow fans. If you're struggling with insomnia these days, you can now rely on the soothing sound of Burton saying "Jesus Christ, what the fuck? Go to sleep!" to help you drift off at night.

What a _________ Job: How Mad Libs Are Written

“There’s a very small number of people on this planet who have this very specific job.” That’s how Mad Libs editor Laura Marchesani describes her work, and the exact thought that made me curious about a game I hadn’t played in decades.

Mad Libs have been a household name since their first release by publisher Price Stern Sloan (now a division of Penguin) in 1958. The game has a sophisticated origin story, told years ago by its inventor Leonard Stern: Stern’s friend Roger Price, whom he’d met when they were writing for The Tonight Show, had come over to polish a humor book they’d written together called What Not [...]

Watch a Play from Bob Odenkirk's New Book Called "Hitler Dinner Party"

Bob Odenkirk's new book A Load of Hooey comes out today, and to get you excited, he teamed up with Funny or Die and the voice talents of Megan Amram to turn his short play "Hitler Dinner Party" into a fully realized and extremely awkward animation. For more monologues, poetry, fiction, and plays from the mind of Bob Odenkirk, order yourself a copy of A Load of Hooey immediately.