Splitsider

Posts tagged as books

'Saturday Night Live: The Book' Is Now Available for Pre-Order

Get ready to add another title to your SNL book collection. Art book publisher Taschen announced today that a new coffee table book called Saturday Night Live: The Book is slated for a release next month, and it's now available for pre-order via Taschen's website. Described as "part encyclopedia and part behind-the-scenes tour," the book includes the following:

  • Over 2,300 images from SNL's archives, many previously unpublished
  • An illustrated breakdown of the 6-day week at SNL through the years, with an expanded section for the live show
  • Seasons reference guide with complete cast, host, and musical guest lists
  • Exclusive interview with founder and executive producer Lorne Michaels
[...]

I Am Pleased to Inform You That Someone Now Has a Tattoo Inspired by You and/or Your Work, by Molly Bradley

Dear Author,

Congratulations! You must have done something right, because something you wrote has inspired someone to imprint an excerpted portion, representation, allusion, or overt reference to it on a part of their body, to remain there forever.

Please do appreciate what it means for a person to go ahead and do this. For one, the kind of person who would get a tattoo of a literary nature is surely a voracious reader. This person has read countless words that he or she did not deem fit to emblazon permanently on his or her person, probably because they were not moving enough or too trite or even too commonly [...]

Dave Hill Reflects on Life, Death, and Funeral Parties

IFC's Comedy Crib released the first installment of a new web series today called Funny People Reading Books featuring Dave Hill reading an excerpt from his 2012 book Tasteful Nudes. In the clip, Hill looks back on his understanding and acceptance of death as a child, which included much more enthusiasm than most kids his age.

Aasif Mandvi Explains How 'The Daily Show' Made Him a "Terrorist of Comedy"

"The longer I spent time on The Daily Show, standing in front of a green screen pretending to report from war zones and hot spots around the world—most often from somewhere in the Middle East—the more I began to realize that The Daily Show was radicalizing me. I was being allowed to express the outrage that had lain dormant in me since the aftermath of September 11. I was becoming a terrorist of comedy … I was learning to fire missiles of satire across the basic cable airwaves and blow the minds of a million people."

- Aasif Mandvi looks back on getting hired on The Daily Show and his [...]

Megan Amram Is Going on a 'Science…For Her!' Book Tour

Megan Amram's new book Science…For Her! comes out on November 4th, and she's celebrating the launch with a book tour in the US and Canada. The tour will make stops in Los Angeles, Toronto, Brooklyn, Portland, and more with some special guest appearances from John Hodgman, Megan Mullally, and Amram's mom. Click through for complete book tour information, then check out Amram's super sexy promo video with Nick Offerman, Rich Fulcher, and Steve Agee here.

Second City's Improv Book 'Yes, And' Is Now Available for Pre-Order

Good news for improv fans: The Second City has a new book due out February 3rd, and it's now available for pre-order. Written by Second City executive vice president Kelly Leonard and Second City Works CEO Tom Yorton, Yes, And: How Improvisation Reverses "No, But" Thinking and Improves Creativity and Collaboration–Lessons from The Second City will offer a comprehensive breakdown of the Second City improv approach:

The rules of improvisation may sound a little like a recipe for disaster (“dare to offend” “fail in public,” “relinquish power”); in fact, the basic tenets of improv are also those that help groups like nonprofits, schools, apartment coops, and political [...]

Patton Oswalt on His Dream of Becoming a Film Director: "Eventually I Will"

"Eventually I will. But when I make the leap to become a director, I have got to convince a platoon of people to make the leap with me, so that's really nerve-racking. And I'm in the process of working up to that. And hopefully, someday, someone can play back this interview, if I've made a movie, and I can go, 'Oh, OK. I was at least approaching it respectfully.' It's gonna have to be me finally just closing my eyes, and hitting the gas pedal and pulling out into traffic."

- Patton Oswalt talks his movie addiction, new memoir Silver Screen Fiend, and his goal to become a director [...]

Dan Harmon Is Publishing a Book of Essays in 2016

Good news for Dan Harmon fans: Entertainment Weekly reports that the Community creator is writing a book of humorous essays to be published by Doubleday sometime in 2016. The book — which doesn't yet have an official title — will "present a mix of the author’s recollections, musings, and riffs." The book will be Harmon's second published work following the limited release of 2013's You'll Be Perfect When You're Dead, a collection of his best writing from his blog "Dan Harmon Poops."

Amy Poehler's 'Yes Please' Is the Best Non-Self-Help Self-Help Book Ever

Before I can start my thoughts on Amy Poehler’s Yes Please (Dey Street Press, out today), I have to put aside Professional Writer Voice and make a confession: I love self-help books. I’m not talking about the ones that promise if you just think positively piles of money will magically appear. I mean the ones that urge us to be better people, that gently tell us it’s slowly inch-by-inch going to be okay and that it helps our hearts to be kinder to others and to ourselves. I have an entire shelf of them. If there’s a Brene Brown book to be had, I own a dog-eared, heavily-underlined copy, [...]

Marcel the Shell Experiences His Very First Thunderstorm

It's a big week for fans of Jenny Slate and Dean Fleischer-Camp's tiny creation Marcel the Shell. Not only is there a new book called Marcel the Shell: The Most Surprised I've Ever Been out tomorrow, but today they released a brand new video featuring Marcel as he talks about deodorant, the "idiots of the sea," and his plant allergies while experiencing his very first thunderstorm. Check out the first two Marcel the Shell videos here and here.

Patton Oswalt Explains the Story Behind His Book Jacket Photo

To promote his new memoir Silver Screen Fiend, last night Patton Oswalt was a guest on The Tonight Show and told Jimmy Fallon the story behind his selfie book jacket photo, in which he says he looks like an "83-year-old meth addict." At least that meth addict knew enough about selfies to take the photo at the most flattering selfie angle possible.

The 16 Best Comedy Books of 2014

To add to your diet of comedy consumption which is likely already at critical mass, what with the comedy movies, sitcoms, sketch comedy shows, web videos, Twitter feed, and novelty T-shirts, here's your reading list: the best comedy books of 2014. This year had an especially delightful selection of comedy and comedy-related books. Here then are some of the comedy history, comedy theory, comedy memoirs, comic essay collections, and comic novels that stood out.

Talking with Megan Amram About Her New Book 'Science…For Her!'

I don’t want to start this by talking about Twitter and how it’s now used for more than sharing up to the second news, opinions on that news, and jokes on that news, because we already know this. Also, because Megan Amram deserves more than this. But you can’t talk about Amram and her career without talking about Twitter. Before she was a comedy writer on Parks and Recreation and the Oscars, she was just known for her tweets. And by “just,” I mean her over four hundred thousand followers “just” knew this woman for her weird, often dark, hilarious tweets. It was this simple act of writing jokes on [...]

Watch LeVar Burton Do a Live Reading of 'Go the Fuck to Sleep'

Every '90s kid's favorite book enthusiast LeVar Burton recently participated in a charity telethon, where he made the very charitable donation of a live reading of Adam Mansbach's Go the Fuck to Sleep to a group of grown up Reading Rainbow fans. If you're struggling with insomnia these days, you can now rely on the soothing sound of Burton saying "Jesus Christ, what the fuck? Go to sleep!" to help you drift off at night.